Advice on controller/drives for Plasma Cutter

Thread: Advice on controller/drives for Plasma Cutter

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Advice on controller/drives for Plasma Cutter

Hi guys,
    I am building a Plasma with a 100amp Hypertherm unit with machine torch. I have some limited experience building routers and purpose built automation machines over the years for my shop.

I have heard HORROR stories about RF interference playing havoc on controllers and PCs.
    I was planning on a plug and play G540 GECKO controller drive unit for the controller. What do I need to do to shield it from the RF noise, and is there a better setup for what I'm trying to do?
    I want to go simple if possible, but I don't want to find out later I have to buy "more better stuff".
    Thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

First off....what is the model of the 100 amp Hypertherm plasma. The units built in the last 15 years or so (Powermax1650 and Powermax105) do not use high frequency for starting. If it is a Max100 or Max100D....they do use high frequency.

If you are building the machine....proper wiring and grounding as well as cable routing can make most any machine work with high frequency start plasma systems. All of Hypertherm's industrial plasma systems from 130 amps to 800 amps use high frequency start...these systems all are installed on cnc cutting machines.

To build a machine for use with high frequency start plasma:

- It is best to use a cnc control that is designed specifically for plasma cutting. Hypertherm produces a few different PC based cnc controls that do not have issues with electrical noise interference...they have I/O filtering and isolation as well as use all properly shielded cables for motor/drive encoder feedback.