Newbie Question about CNC Software | Post Processor | Limit Switch Set Up | First Run

Thread: Newbie Question about CNC Software | Post Processor | Limit Switch Set Up | First Run

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Newbie Question about CNC Software | Post Processor | Limit Switch Set Up | First Run

Hi all,

I have a couple of newbie questions and if anyone has a couple of minutes to spare and guide me in the right direction, that would be much appreciated.

I am a desktop hobbyist with the CNC and I had bought a ZEN CNC desktop machine a couple months back.

Although the company provides instructions, sometimes they are lacking in certain areas or not up-to-date despite marketing their products as for beginners. I am really a beginner.

This is the link to their website so whoever is looking to respond can know a little more about the machine I bought. It is their biggest version - 12" x 12".

Arduino Limit Switch Installation Instructions - Zen_Toolworks_Wiki

My questions are concerned mainly with the order of softwares, communication and also limit switch workings and perhaps initial test runs tips.

I have a 3D animation background with 3D Studio Max and now I would like to make some actual 3D stuff with my 3D files.

This has truly been an on and off adventure of sorts and I am still not too familiar with terminologies so forgive me if I describe things in layman terms at times. I am quite familiar with 3D printing but I realized CNC is quite on another level.

1. For modeling the actual 3D file, I use 3D studio max than export the raw 3d file into acceptable file format for Fusion 360.

2. I think they call Fusion 360 the post processor software? Is this correct? Or is the post processor something else? Someone told me post processor is built into the Fusion 360. What would we call the Fusion 360? Someone told me post processors turn 3D files into readable machine codes (Gcodes)?