G code translator for Galil - Page 2

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: G code translator for Galil

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: G code translator for Galil

If Mach issued step/dir to Galil there would be no point going Galil.
    Galil receives look ahead command over the bus, whether PC slot or USB similar to the way that Camsoft issues commands.
    I have even used the old Galil legacy type to do this using the Terminal program, but unfortunately Mach is not compatible with Galil Legacy versions.
    Al.

CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Quote Originally Posted by battwell View Post
    what dont you like about mach3? it will do anything you want with the right add ons . you just need to know where and how to find them.
    with the latest plugin it will even do rigid threading perfectly..
    Battwell,

You largely answered your own question. I am new to Mach, in fact new to PC controller CNC, but I am sure that it is a capable piece of software otherwise it would not be so popular. However, on first acquaintance I do not find it intuitive particularly at the initial settings stage. The manuals have not been much help either and several queries on the Mach and Galil forums have failed to produce the required info.
    It sounds like you have been through the mill pretty much with Mach and Galil and so maybe you can help. Here is a starting question, by the way I am using a Galil 2143 over ethernet driving velocity mode servo motors, with the 4.6 Galil plugin;

Galil has a lot of tuning options, Mach 3 has some also, specifically acceleration and velocity. I guess that they are in there mainly for when Mach is driving steppers through the printer port. The question is "Do I ignore the Mach settings, do I set them the same as I set the Galil, or....?