Help w/ power supply for a 3-axis servo system

Thread: Help w/ power supply for a 3-axis servo system

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help w/ power supply for a 3-axis servo system

I am attempting to assemble a power supply for my servo system and want to make sure that I am making the proper calculations necessary for a suitable match. I could really use any help or advice that anyone can offer me on this since I am a complete newbie when it comes to electronics.

Here's the data that I'm basing my power supply requirements on:

motor specs:

model: KL23-120-36 (keling nema23)

terminal voltage: 36VDC
    cont. current: 4A
    peak current: 19A
    no load current: 0.5A
    no load rpm: 4000 rpm
    cont. load rpm: 3300 rpm
    torque constant: 420z/in.
    torque peak: 230 0z/in.

amplifier specs:

model: Gecko G320

under voltage rating: 18V
    over voltage rating: 80V
    current limit: 0-20A

Additional details:

servo gear ratio: 3:1 (precision planetary gearhead)
    ballscrew pitch: 5mm (5tpi)

With this setup I calculate approximately 220 ipm @ 690 oz/in at it's full potential power limit. Since I will be fitting this system to a small x3 benchtop mill I will likely never have a need to reach half that speed or torque but I'm hoping that this system will make a nice match for the x3 nonetheless. (If I can get this pwr supply sorted out!)

So, here are my system's power requirements:

system voltage requirement: 36V
    amplifier under voltage limit: 18V
    amplifier over voltage limit: 80V

Based on the above data I calculated the following values:

Acceptable power supply range: 42-60V
    power supply output current: 13.7A per axis [Based on this formula > IPS=Vm x Im / Vps x (.98)]