Need Help! Please help with wiring for my small homemade machine

Thread: Please help with wiring for my small homemade machine

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Please help with wiring for my small homemade machine

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to cnc machines. I've built one (larger) functional machine previously but decided I wanted to try build my own from old dvd/floppy drives, using a different cheaper controller board. I'm having trouble wiring up the drivers to the controller board. If anyone could help me I'd really appreciate it. Here's where I'm at:

I've bought a very cheap 5 axis controller board (shown in pic below) and want to connect up some L298N drivers to it. I cannot get the stepper motors to work at all even though I know they are functional. I'm sure I'm just overlooking something really simple but just can't work out what.

I want to use mach3 ultimately. I have already set-up mach3 according to the manual for my board, so I'm pretty sure it's just a wiring I have an issue with. My parallel port is working fine and it's set to the right port setting.

I've searched the web many times but come up empty. Is there something wrong with using L298N drivers for running small 5v stepper motors in this way? The specs show they should be fine for such a small cnc machine.

These are the things I'm trying to connect:

5 axis cnc mach 3 board
    L298N driver board
    5v 4-wire stepper motor

These are the boards and various connections (click for larger image):

I've wired it up differently so many times with no success I'm very frustrated. I'm sure I've connected the actual stepper to the L298N driver correctly and have supplied the board with 5v. However I don't know how the In1, In2, In3, In4 connections connect to the 5 axis controller board. I believe two of the signal wires need 5v but I've no idea if something else needs enabling. I'm at a total loss.

If more details are needed just let me know.