Trying to figure out wiring for my DIY CNC - toroidal transformer to 2 phase 240V

Thread: Trying to figure out wiring for my DIY CNC - toroidal transformer to 2 phase 240V

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Trying to figure out wiring for my DIY CNC - toroidal transformer to 2 phase 240V

Hello all,

This is my first post here, so please bear with me if I don't know all the lingo yet. I have been a hobbyist machinist for quite some time, and have an old geared bench mill and a lathe that was made in the early 1900's (Seneca Falls) that have both served me well, but I have wanted to build a CNC mill for quite some time now and I finally pulled the trigger.

My current hang-up is trying to find a way to build the basic power structure for my machine. I will be using a 240V 2.2KW spindle, so I am trying to stay with using a single power plug for the machine if possible. That is what has lead to my current dillema. After scouring the web for a week now trying to get a handle on how to wire this up, I have discovered that I really understand less than I need to to get this rolling.

I think the crux of my issue is trying to wire a dual primary toroidal transformer to a 2 phase (US not European) 240VAC supply. I "THINK" I have everything else mostly squared away, but I don't have confidence that I have the primary side hookup right?

I have attached my wiring schematic in PDF format for review if anyone is willing to take a look?

The transformer is a Hammond 1182T60P. The specifications can be found here:
    http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/22...902.1508184824

page 3 about 1/2 way down:
    dual primaries 240/120
    dual secondaries 120/60 @ 25A

Thank you all for the help, and I look forward to more questions to come

Rick johnston
    Cedar Ridge, CA

Edit: do not use the attached diagram, it has been updated...see later posts

Similar Threads: