Help - Looking for a mill/drill in Canada

Thread: Help - Looking for a mill/drill in Canada

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help - Looking for a mill/drill in Canada

Hi all,

I am new to all this machining and am looking to get into it for hobby/learning purposes. I'll be milling plastics 95% of the time. Max source/material size is probably gonna be about 4x4". Every now and then, I may use alum as well. My budget is around a thousand. I have a few problems/questions:

1. I am looking at the Craftex CT129N from Busy Bee. Is this a decent machine for my purposes?

2. What else is available or an option within Canada? I can't order out of the states because of high shipping costs, duty, etc. I saw the X2-like machine at Princess Auto too.

3. Can't seem to find a source for machines anywhere in Edmonton, Alberta other than Busy Bee or Princess Auto. Does anyone know of some other places/dealers?

Thanks,
    ~Lane

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

OMG... just swung by Princess Auto and BusyBee Tools to see the Mill/Drill machines in person. I first stopped by BusyBee and the CT129N is a pretty nice machine. A lot smaller than I thought, but still a sturdy and capable looking machine. The guy working there was knowledgeable as well.

Then I stopped by Princess Auto... what a shi!t-hole, selling what appears to be "disposable tools". They are like dollar store quality for retail pricing. The Mill/Drill they sell is JUNK, made out of tin, rusted and the dials turn 6-10mm before they even engage the table. The markers are literally tin and are not even cut straight or align properly. They want a THOUSAND DOLLARS for that!!! (http://www.princessauto.com/shop-gar...illing-machine)

I wouldn't even buy a hammer from Princess Auto man. Anyway, just thought I would share my window shopping experience.

Downloads
    Uploads

all of that stuff originates from the same factories