Need Help! GMAX ToolPath Question

Thread: GMAX ToolPath Question

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default GMAX ToolPath Question

Hi All,

I'm a CNC newbie, having just converted my ShopNotes Router Milling Machine over to an XZA setup running off of Mach3.

I am also a newbie to CAD/CAM, GMAX, CNC ToolKit, Gcode, etc. So, I'm learning a lot of new material very, very quickly to get my machine up and running.

My first learning project is to create gcode for a simple Shaker candlestand centerpost for a 3-legged stand. I have successfully created a 2D DXF in ViaCad, moved it into GMAX and using the lathe tool, I have created a 3D object - Centerpost.

Then, following the CNC ToolKit 4-axis video from YouTube, I have created the Parallel Splines for the ToolPath.

In making the ToolPath, the centerpoint is moved ABOVE the Gunstock for vector calculations, so that the CNC will be moving downward to do the actual cutting.

I have my centerpoint on the X-Axis at Z0. Do I need to move this centerpoint above the Centerpost like in the video, or because my Centerpost object is symmetrical, do I leave the centerpoint where it is at X0Z0?

Also, could you tell me if this looks okay so far? Do you see any obvious mistakes that I've made? I've uploaded the GMAX file and the original DXF file.

And, in completing the ToolPath for this, what other settings must I be careful with to ensure a proper completion?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Joe D.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by jdebott1; 08-17-2013 at 07:33 AM. Reason: Forgot to enter a prefix - Need Help!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Okay, after a full day of work with OpenSource CAD, GMAX and the CNC ToolKit, I have finally developed a full design process to go from a 2D dxf to full working Gcode.

Now, I just have to tweak my ShopNotes CNC Router Mill and start "rocking and rolling"!

Joe D.

Downloads
    Uploads