Newbie Cutting a curved piece of wood.

Thread: Cutting a curved piece of wood.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Cutting a curved piece of wood.

Hi there. Im new to the world of CNC.

It would be great if someone could help me.

Im looking at purchasing a CNC machine in order to manufacture wooden sunglasses with from laminated plywood (max 5mm thickness).

I am proficient with Adobe Illustrator and Google Sketchup, but don't have any experience with CAD software.

The pieces of wood needs to be bent into a curve before going onto the CNC router for cutting the frame. See attached picture as example of what it will look like when placed on t-slot table.

What I want to know is: Do I need to draw the sunglasses frame in CAD with the exact same curve (in 3D) as the small wood plank for it to be able to cut it correctly?

Hope someone could help me with this.

Thanks

Cutting a curved piece of wood.-cnc-jpg

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Cutting a curved piece of wood.

Since you'll most likely be cutting them with a standard 3 axis routerm than no, the drawing would only need to be a 2D drawing. You'd only need it in 3D if you were using a 5 axis router and wanted the tool to remain perpendicular to the surface.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for the reply.

Will the the spindle automatically move up and down along the z-axis as it moves around the cutting line? Or do I just set the Z-height at the lowest point of the curve?

Downloads
    Uploads