Newbie with a few questions about 3d printing. Please help!

Thread: Newbie with a few questions about 3d printing. Please help!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Newbie with a few questions about 3d printing. Please help!

Hi everyone,

Im new to the whole 3d printer world and looking at building one to start a business. I am a design draftsman currently so know my way around autocad and inventor.

Im wanting to build parts for cars. Replacement parts that you can no longer buy and also new things. Anyway a few questions I have:

Has anybody ever tried to print a complete bodykit for a car? (fiberglass sucks so was hoping I could build something big enough and print entire bodykits?) Ive attached a picture of what I am looking at printing. I feel SLS would work better but I dare say id need some serious amounts of material to fill the bed haha.

If so, what plastic would I need? It would need to have a little bit of flex to it.

What style of printer is best? From my research the only affordable and way I can see building something as big as I want is to use FDM but if anyone thinks I could build a SLS printer im all ears as I beleive the finish will be a ton better?

What sort of finish am I going to be able to get? If im doing parts for cars to paint and finish how smooth am I going to be able to get the finish? I know it will need finishing but if I can get it good enough I can throw some gel coat/hi build primer over that would be fine.

Is there anything else I need to know? A mate of mine has built a cnc router and is giving me his contacts for the extrusions and ballscrews I will need to build the frame easily. I can also cut all the parts I need his router and can get parts machined up.

Also to anyone who runs a business. Is there much of a market for 3d parts? Especially on the larger scale?

Thanks heaps guys,

Brad

Similar Threads: