Help me get my CNC conversion running again.

Thread: Help me get my CNC conversion running again.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Exclamation Help me get my CNC conversion running again.

I have a ShopMaster ElDorado converted to CNC several years ago running on LinuxCNC, or EMC at the time. A friend put most of it together and Im kind of lost as to what is involved. The BOB i believe has failed, I think he built it himself from a kit, but I would like to get a better more reliable setup going. I have Gecko drivers, running 3 steppers driving the (unfortunately) acme screws. (will be trying to find ballscrew conversion info later) From the PC it is running to the cnc control box from a RS232 cable. I guess what I need is info on the parts I need to connect from the PC to the Geckos, a better BOB? is there a different way? suggestions? Also ideas for limit switches, the microswitches I was using seem to throw false Estops at the worst points of a program.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Help me get my CNC conversion running again.

I contacted Mesa.net, when they finally got back to me they recommended the 5I25/7I76 combination. Anybody have experience with these ?

Downloads
    Uploads

You can go many ways to do this.
    Most probably your current setup is using the parrallel port. The BOB is to connect the PC to the stepper drivers, the end stops and possible to Estop, spindle start/stop and spindle RPM.
    Have a look at USB boards like smooth stepper, USB-CNC and CNC-USB, or even a CNC controller working over ethernet.
    USB is more sensitive to disturbance than Ethernet. But most USB solutions are cheaper. I use the USB CNC MK2 from Planet Planet CNC and so far it works nice. I have a mill with aditional a rotary table which I connect to the 4th axis. So far I don''t use the other 5 axis, but perhaps in future.