Need Help! Slaved Y axis losing steps

Thread: Slaved Y axis losing steps

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Slaved Y axis losing steps

I have got the motor and controller set form cncrouterparts.com that include 4 motors and the gecko 540 controller. I have been running the machine for about 6 months now and I keep having one of the motors on the slaved Y axis lose some steps. After running the machine for a bit I have to check with a square to make sure it is still lined up. Most of the time I have to unpair the motors and move one of them to get it back in line. My gantry is 24 inches long and after about 2-3 hours of running I notice that the one side will be out about 1/8 - 1/4 inch from the other side. I am looking for suggestions how how to correct this. Could it be the motor, controller, or software. I'm not sure where to start my search. Please let me know if there is any other info that one would require to help fix this. Pictures below. I have the forward and back motion as the Y axis. The gab that I measure is when I place the square in the right corner or the gantry and the side rail. Thanks in advance for any help.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Slaved Y axis losing steps-img_1541-jpg   Slaved Y axis losing steps-img_2259-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Slaved Y axis losing steps

It's unlikely to be the motors, or a software problem. Make sure the G540 has adequate cooling, as overheating can cause this.
    Also, make sure there's no binding causing it. You may also need to reduce your acceleration settings.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads