Troubl understanding G41 and G42 codes

Thread: Troubl understanding G41 and G42 codes

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Troubl understanding G41 and G42 codes

Ok... I'm a newbie. Now thats been said and out of the way, I'm having trouble understanding these codes.

I do not understand how and when to incorporate these codes. I do understand that the G41 compensates to the left of the toolpath and the G42 to the right. How does one use these in a manual lathe program? What rules are there to follow?

I would appreciate the help. Thanks in advance.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Smile Sorry...

...we may be a little confused. Your, on one hand, talking about CNC ( Computerized Numerical Control) "G" codes (G41 & G42 ect...automated machines) then on the other hand you change over to refering to a "manual lathe".??? Try again with more background info...
    Steve

Downloads
    Uploads

I don't know if there is a big list of rules to know. A couple perhaps.

First, pre-position the tool near the start of the profile to be cut, but not directly on the profile. When radius compensation is turned on, then the controller reckons that the path has now shifted from tool center to tool edge tangent. It may make an actual movement to adjust its position (by the tool radius amount), or, it may save that move and combine it with the next real positioning command.

So if you begin with the tool on the profile, you'll probably get a little gouge mark.

The lead off of the profile should follow a similar rule. Don't turn radius comp off (G40) while the tool is sitting on the part profile. Again, a gouge mark may result.

So in real life, you need to add a short line onto and off of the actual profile that you want to machine.