Circle and arc problems

Thread: Circle and arc problems

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Circle and arc problems

Hello,
    I am new here and a total beginner at G-code. I am using a CNC Aerotech 3200 and it is working as expected for regular straight translations in XYZ axis. I tried programming circles and I am running into issues.

I can do circles in the XY plane without specifying an end point by using "G2 I5 F20". I can also do "G2 X0 I5 F20" or "G2 Y2 I5 F20" but weirdly, when I do "G2 X0 Y2 I5 F20" as some online tutorials suggest, there is an error at the "X0" part. The same thing happens (only one end coordinate working) when I use the R method for circles.

Other problem, circles only work in the XY plane. When I try to do it in the XZ or YZ plane by using G18 and G19 ("G18 G2 K5 F20"), only the X or Y axis oscillates. There is no movement along the Z axis. I can move it manually with buttons in the gui while the circle is happening but not in a programed, controlled way.

Any help regarding those problems is greatly appreciated,
    Thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Circle and arc problems

I have never seen a G2 or G3 move without either I and J or an R. Not sure how you could derive the radius and sweep without the I, J, and an X, Y end point. The start point is normally the current position. The X or Y and the I or J could be modal so would then be implied.

The X0 may be confusing the controller, try X0.0001 and see what happens. Arcs that end on exactly 180 or 360 can sometimes cause problems in the math in the controller.

Downloads
    Uploads

If an arc end point is not specified, the start point is taken as the end point and a complete arc (circle) is made.
    If the end point is being specified, make sure that the arc is mathematically possible. The center of the circle must lie on the perpendicular bisector of the line joining the start and the end points, within a parameter-defined tolerance.