Spoilboard Question for New Saturn 4x4 CNC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spoilboard Question for New Saturn 4x4 CNC

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Spoilboard Question for New Saturn 4x4 CNC

Hi Guys.

I am new to CNC and have a new Saturn 4x4.
    I would like to use 3/4 inch MDF for the spoilboard.

The work surface of the machine is 60.5 inches wide.
    The MDF sheets are 4x8 feet.

So do I lay one sheet 48 inches wide and then cut another
    12.5 inches wide and screw them down?

Or do I cut the MDF sheets so the seam is in the middle of table?

I would prefer not to use two sheets and have a seam, in case the two
    pieces are not perfectly level to one another. However 3/4 inch MDF does
    not come in 5 foot wide sheets (At least not here in BC, Canada).

How did you guys handle the spoilboard on your 4x4 Saturn machines?

Any insights would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers!
    Redcedar

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Spoilboard Question for New Saturn 4x4 CNC

However 3/4 inch MDF does not come in 5 foot wide sheets (At least not here in BC, Canada).
    It certainly does, and the 5ft sheets I use are probably made in Canada. You might be able to find a local cabinet shop order one for you. Any plywood distributors will have them in stock, but often will not sell to the general public.
    According to the specs, the machine can only cut a 52"x52" area. What I would do, is use two pieces, with a seam over one of the beams. Then add a second layer that just covers the usable area, as you'll need to surface this are flat.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads