Just In Buy or Build...That Is The Question

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Buy or Build...That Is The Question

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Buy or Build...That Is The Question

I have been trying to decide, over the last year or so, whether to build a new router or to go out and buy one.

I am a fairly experienced "hobby" CNC router user running a 2' x 4' machine with Nema 23 570 oz/in motors and a Porter Cable 3.75 HP router. Shortly after buying this machine I realized I needed more power so I upgraded the power supply, electronics, motors and router from the much smaller components that came with the machine. I have been running this new configuration for a few years now cutting wood accurately at around 80 to 100 inches per minute and have been very happy with that performance.

Here is my machine now:
    -

-
    I use Vectric Aspire and Mach 3 for all of my work and love this combination of software. I have been cutting mostly wooden and acrylic signs and boxes and some aluminum at times and have been able to produce some fairly nice products with the setup I have.

Everything has been going well until recently, when I tried to cut out a large project from a slab 3 inches thick by 17 inches wide by 44 inches long. This was a "one-off project for an upscale buyer willing to pay good money for an unusual 3D "carved" item. Anyway...my little machine took forever to complete this job, about fifteen hours, and I did make some money on this project but I really had a lot of time invested in it. The stress level was also very high as I thought that my machine might "crash" at any moment and if something went wrong I would have to start over from scratch and lose hours of time not to mention the cost of a new slab. I was successful and got paid but not before biting my nails down to stubs and pulling a few clumps of much needed and very scarce hair out.