Do all fanuc based machines over travel?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do all fanuc based machines over travel?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Do all fanuc based machines over travel?

Hey everyone, ive been working fulltime in a machine shop for about 8 months now, started from pushing a button to programming and setting up lathes and mills and am learning a swiss lathe at the moment which basically led me to my question.

We have 2 miyano bnc lathes, and a leadwell which are all fanuc based and will overtravel. We also have an older matsurra but it is based on a yasnac control and overtravels as well; which led me to the assumption that because they are all older 10-20 year old machines that the technology (im not even sure what this is) to prevent over travelling didnt exist.

Our other machines include a milltronics mill, a haas vf3 and a citizen l20, all of which are not fanuc based and are fairly "new"; the millttronics and citizen are less than 5 years old and the haas is about 10 years, so my previous theory seemed to work out, until..

..We got ourselves a citizen K16 which is fanuc based.. (this one is kind of "mine", ive learned most of my swiss knowledge and programming from our L20, but since im new my boss is letting me be the one to learn the machine). I found out today that it does indeed overtravel, when our L20 does not. I figured being a swiss lathe of the calibre it is and its age that overtravel would not be a headache to deal with but I was wrong.

So my theory of older machines overtravelling and new ones not was thrown out the window.

Aside from the yasnac, fanuc control and servos/motors seems to be the only common denominator.

So why? What exactly is the reason for this?