Fadal ATC Crash

Thread: Fadal ATC Crash

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Fadal ATC Crash

Hey Guys,
    This might be a tough one but I'm a CNC-light machinist so hopefully not for you guys. I bought a refurbished FADAL 4020 that shipped in the beginning of 2007. It came with a few bugs but the factory was great about setting those right or giving me the info to do it. One thing that was not fixed before they rolled over was an intermittent crash during tool changes. I have a 21 station carousel ATC and have the Multiprocessor CNC controller.

In almost all cases this crash occurs after the program has ended and as it loads the first tool to restart the program. As the spindle comes down on the tool the usual pneumatic sound is accented with a thud and the machine alarms out.

My recovery procedure is to clear errors, manually home and cold start the slides, pull the tool out of the spindle, jog the carousel to station 1, reset the tool order, Tool change the empty spindle into the carousel (tc,1), jog the carousel back to the station which has the tool I removed, hit manual to drop the spindle on the empty station, then manually reload that tool.

Initially I thought the issue was the carousel station but rearranging my tools had no effect, it would still crash when replacing the first tool of the program. And while my face cutter is generally the first tool, it also crashes on other tools when I start with them. The error may be thermally sensitive because it happens more consistently though not exclusively when I'm running for several hours. When it's real bad it will crash at the completion of maybe 2 or 3 out of 4 parts and will even crash as I when the spindle drops on the empty station near the end of my recovery procedure. Other times I can run all day and it won't crash. But if I'm running all day, there is probably an 75% chance it will start happening by the end.