Just ordered Fadal VMC40

Thread: Just ordered Fadal VMC40

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Just ordered Fadal VMC40

Well I finally bit the bullet and ordered a used 1988 Fadal VMC-40. I'm getting the ways re-turcited and the thrust bearings replaced by a Fadal service tech, to the tune of $5000. I have to build an addition to my shop just to house the machine. Being new to CNC machining I'm looking for advice on how to setup this addition. The machine weights 8100 lbs and I already have a 4" concrete slab in the driveway. Do I need to add any aditional conreate to this slab to handle the weight? I have a compressor in the shop, do I need air for this machine? Are there any special drains or water lines needed ? Like I said new this CNC machining thing. I have a ShopMaster Tri-power which I'm sending back for a refund as it just can't handle the milling I need. the Fadal comes with CNC88 control and I have BobCad/CAM software and the PC. I'm mainly milling intake manifolds for motorcycles and need to mill out the throat(circular) to 2.008 and then the outside to 2.210. I've read some posts about doing circles and want to make sure this machine can do that? Anyway any suggestions or points in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Is there a conversion holder that will take the cat40 taper and alow me to use the R-8's I have?

ben

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by bherr; 10-18-2006 at 03:34 PM.

Downloads
    Uploads

bherr--
    The 4" slab is too thin. We reccomend 8 to 12" slab. For a VMC 40 the slab should be 7' 9" by 9' 6" with no seams or cracks. As for the air compressor, you'll need 15 SCFM for porper supply.

Neal

Monkeywrench Technician DareBee's Avatar
    Downloads
    Uploads

Your R8 collets are useless for this machine - don't even waste your time thinking about it.

It is very easy to spend $5000 in tooling when setting up a new machine.