Need Help! Error number 8

Thread: Error number 8

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Error number 8

Hi, I have a problem with Fadal 4020, the spindle, spin for 1 second and the display shows error number 8,
    Buy the machine used, it is model 98, when turning on the spindle, I hear an air leak.
    Thank you for your help I am new to it

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Sir,

Here is the defination of the error you are getting:

[ 8 ] SPINDLE MAGNET NOT DETECTED OR SPINDLE NOT TURNING
    This error appears during spindle operation if the spindle magnet is not
    detected for any period longer than 3 seconds.

There may be several reasons:

1. Your spindle drive belts are not engaging, this the spindle motor spins and the spindle is not. You will have to remove the head cover to determine.

2. Your spindle drive belt has broken.

3. If you have a pozi high/low system, your idler wheels may not be actuating the rollers into the belt and thus the belt is slipping and the spindle is not turning when the motor is.

4. Your spindle pulley has a small magnet inbedded into the top if it. It must be read on each revolution of the spindle so the machine knows it is turning and you don't crash an end mill into your material dead stopped. Commonly the switch which reads the magnet is either dirty and needs cleaning, needs adjusted properly to the spindle magnet (about .03"), or the switch has came loose from the plug that carries the signal ultimately to the 1040 mill interface board, or the switch is just bad and needs replacing (ELE-2064 in stock at FadalCNC.com). Try running the spindle with a M3.1 S1000 and see what happens. The M3.1 should ignore the switch for troubleshooting only.

Let me know if I can help further.

Brian D.
    FadalCNC
    208-855-9426

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks, great answer I'm going to review and comment them.

Downloads
    Uploads