Where do you buy tooling?

Thread: Where do you buy tooling?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Where do you buy tooling?

I kinda jumped into CNC machining about a year ago with little...err I mean no experience. I've learned a lot along the way, but one thing I still haven't totally figured out is where to buy good tooling.

Being a newbie, my first couple of purchases were from Mcmaster Carr, but I found them somewhat pricey. I then stumbled upon Enco, but I've been disappointed with their tooling quality. (I have yet to get a straight drillbit from them.)

Do you have any recommendations on where to buy tooling? I'm looking for good HSS and Carbide end mills, hopefully not too expensive. A place with a website would be nice, but if they only have a catalog available, that's fine too. Any recommendations?

Similar Threads:
    My name is Electric Nachos. Sorry to impose, but I am the ocean.
    http://www.bryanpryor.com

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads

This is where I get mine:

http://www.toolandcutter.com/

Look at the bottom of the page under Promotions/surplus stock. They have 1/16" and 1/8" solid carbide endmills for $6.30 each canadian, thats around $4.00 USD.

Also they are in my town....

Eric

I wish it wouldn't crash.

Downloads
    Uploads

Try here also. They have a House brand "Accu Pro" that's not to bad. Also lots of name brands and specials all the time. They will set you up a $500. open account over the phone. Free second day ups shipping. Their fill rate is almost 100 percent all the time.
    Huge catalog, weeks worth of bathroom reading.

Http://www.mscdirect.com

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Smile