I need advice on this design. EG mill head with spindle.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need advice on this design. EG mill head with spindle.

Default I need advice on this design. EG mill head with spindle.

So I am building an EG cnc, (never heard that one before) EG is the frame that "holds" mounting points for linear rails. The entire machine is cad'd, parts have been chosen, etc. But, I have one issue that I have run into in terms of design. I have ZERO experience with cnc mill heads and the forces they are likely put under. EG doesn't have the best tensile strength, so the majority of the structure head will have to be some sort of metal.Ideally, I get a head cast at a foundry, and design voids to be filled with EG. But, after talking to two foundry's in my state, I can't justify the upfront cost needed for a part that may not work and that I may only need one of. Here is my thrown together solution. Ideally, the machine can handle high carbon steels, but that is the upper end that I am looking for.

The Machine:

• Will be around the size of a tormach 440
    • nema 34, 5mm pitch ballscrew
    • 1.1hp bldc motor
    • The spindle is about 240mm long for a sense of scale.

This these are 1/2" (insert material here) plates, it can be grey iron if i can find it in plate, or steel, this is why I am here.

• Instead of screws, could I weld the plates?(material allowing)
    • If i welded, how would I adjust for the deformation due to heat?

I know this is nowhere near sturdy enough, it is the "structure" i was referring too.

I would cast in the EG after the plates are indicated in, etc. I would also have screws coming out of the plates that would sick into the EG to make sure they EG has a "firm grip" on the plates.
    • Could this be enough?
    • Or is there to little info on my EG or the forces this head is required to handle?