Question about behaviour of stepper motors

Thread: Question about behaviour of stepper motors

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Question about behaviour of stepper motors

hello

I am new to the world of 3 printers.
    I tried to use ramps with arduino and marlin firmware, and I began to give a command in manual mode to one of steppers. I tried both repetier host and pronterface.
    I used my multimeter to see the current that one of phases of the stepper will draw.
    I found that, the motor nearly does not draw significant current while rotation, and it usually draws a sigificant current when stops!
    actually, when it stops, one time it drew 0.8 amps with making noise, and another time 1.25 amps with making noise(nothing changed, load is the same!), and even some times the meter gives me 0 with no noise at all, so the stepper draws 0 current at standstill.
    I do not understand, is this correct? what is the correct behaviour of stepper that I send a manual command to it using repetier or pronterface?

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Question about behaviour of stepper motors

For a good guide to how steppers and stepper drives work, have a look at this document from Gecko.

Downloads
    Uploads

Your multimeter may not be showing anything meaningful measuring the high frequency current flowing through the stepper winding.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by snowyskiesau View Post
    For a good guide to how steppers and stepper drives work, have a look at this document from Gecko.
    thanks for the materials!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

thanks for clarification.
    My motor is 1.7 A per phase, and the driver is 1 A max (without heatsink), so I wanted to check how much current the motor draws.
    are not there any practical way to know how much current is drawn by the motor?

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by mamech View Post