Newbie Questions re: KFLOP and SnapAmp

Thread: Questions re: KFLOP and SnapAmp

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Questions re: KFLOP and SnapAmp

Greetings!

I am new to CNC and have recently acquired a 10+ year old CNC router table (2ft X 5ft). I will be cutting plywood and aluminum sheet material.
    I am planning a refit of the CNC router as it has good mechanical functionality but old unsupported controls and motors.

I will be upgrading the system with new control software, controller board, brushed dc servo motors and encoders. My current thinking is as follows:

Planned Motors: For all three axes - Automation Technology KL23-120-36 brushed servo motors.
    Planned encoders: CUI AMT 102-V
    Motor Driver: G320x or Dynomotion SnapAmp
    Controller Board: PoKeys57CNC or Dynomotion KFLOP
    GCode Software: Mach 3(4?) or KMotionCNC or perhaps both.

I am trying to understand how these things work and where the closed loop control is taking place in the various possible configurations.

Option 1: KMotionCNC->KFLOP->Gecko G320x->brushed servo with quadrature encoder

Case 1.1. Quadrature encoder connected to Gecko G320x. As I understand it, when the encoders are connected to the G320x, the G320x does closed loop control for each step commanded (allowing up to a configured "count following error" before declaring a fault). In this case, is the KFLOP performing path following in open loop mode (ie. no PID control) expecting that the G320x will keep up?

Case 1.2. Quadrature Encoder connected directly to the KFLOP. Does this work? or does the G320x require encoders connected? If it does work, would it allow the KFLOP to "close the loop" during it's path following operations?

Option 2: KMotionCNC->KFLOP -> SnapAmp -> brushed servo with quadrature encoder