2.5D or 3D, Digitizing Probes, and More brain picking!

Thread: 2.5D or 3D, Digitizing Probes, and More brain picking!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default 2.5D or 3D, Digitizing Probes, and More brain picking!

I am building my first CNC router table, and as such, i need to figure out what i am going to cut with it, which brings me logically to the question of what software to use to draw up my designs.

I have limited CAD experience. I can get autocad fairly easily, but i was wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to a better alternative program or should i learn autocad?

What about 3d modelling? I have heard good things about Rhino.

Can you take drawings from programs like photoshop or coreldraw and somehow convert them to G-code?

I saw a digitizing probe on ebay for 90$ that works with Mach3 (my software of choice). Do they work well? can you take the g code it generates and put it back into a program like autocad or rhino?

Sorry to bombard with questions, but i figured the guys in the router building section would be in a similar situiation to myself and as such would be the most appropriate people to ask

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads