New Machine Build 8020 mill... long winded post, 56K killer.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 8020 mill... long winded post, 56K killer.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default 8020 mill... long winded post, 56K killer.

So here is my CNC mill up to this point.... also note that this is my first build, I'm by no means any kind of expert in this field, but I'm a bit crafty and that helps a lot. I'm trying to put this post in some sort of order to tell the story of how I've gotten to where I am with this project, sorry if it seems to ramble on or jump around topic/subject matter. Just ask if you have questions, I'll do the best I can to clear up the confusion I've caused.

Most items have been purchased from the 80/20 Garage Sale on eBay or Home Depot. When you see part #[xxxxxx] then I'm referring to something I purchased from 80/20.

I'm using 1530 series T-Slot for framing here. The cutting area will be about 2" X 4", but this could be changed to whatever size you want, just use longer pieces.

I've cut the 1530 T slot with a Rigid brand compound miter saw using this blade:

That blade does a great job of making very clean cuts. I purchased it from Home Depot. The model number is D1084L.

The base is made from two 4 foot pieces of 1530 T slot, with 4 27" wide pieces. It is bolted together with part #4304 corner brackets, part #3279 economy T nuts, part #5/16-18 x .687 FBHSCS bolts on the inside corner holds and just plain old 5/16 X 3/4" bolts from Home Depot and 5/16 flat washers.

Luckly me, I have a pool table to work on. I slide some of the #4304 brackets into one of the 4ft long pieces of 1530 T slot.

I then fitted the 27" long pieces of T slot to the #4304 brackets and capped off the other ends with another 4 foot piece of 1530 T slot.