new to site and CNC, am building a machine

Thread: new to site and CNC, am building a machine

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default new to site and CNC, am building a machine

Hello all, I am new to the site and I have been browsing the web for a few months collecting information, looking at turnkey machines and trying to learn as much as I can about cnc machine before I start diving in. I build pool cues and have for 5 years now full time. I build a good cue but now I am ready to go to the next level which is CNC. I own a pantograph but I don't really even want to go that route. I used to be a CAD drafter for a Butler building designer when I was going to college for Engineering. I have decided that I can't afford a new machine (can't really take a chance on not being able to make payments on a machine). So I decided to build my own machine. I am a very capable guy. I have a bridgeport mill and all the welding equipement I could need. I have been a welder and fabricator most of my life (dads bussiness). I am the type of person that I would rather build the machine once and build it right, grow into it if necessary. I will be doing inlay work on pool cues and I am also a musician and would like to possibly try my hand at guitar building and inlay work. I want a machine that has a 4 x 4 work area(actual maching area), and 8 inches of Z travel as I will be using 5c collet jigs initially for my 4th axis until I can afford a servo 4th axis. I want to use Gecko drives and I think the G-rex because I want to use ethernet or usb. I have already bought a Perske 2hp spinde and saftronics controller. I would like to use servos and good ballscrews with a high resolution. This site i a bit overwhelming with information. I would like to buy some plans or find some for a quality machine that I can build, like I said, I don't want a cheap machine. I want the equivilant of a techno Isle or something of that nature. I just can't afford to buy one outright and I don't want