Newbie New to DIY CNC

Thread: New to DIY CNC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New to DIY CNC

Hello all! I'm relatively new to the world of CNC machining and I intend on building my own machine for personal use. In terms of experience I've done some CNC work with wood, and have significant experience with laser cutting. Other than that I've done quite a bit of woodworking and metal work as well.

As I've read about building a CNC, the more I realize I don't know all that much about the workings of the machines. There are a lot of forum and sub-forums so finding specific guides has been rather difficult, mostly because I don't know what I'm looking for. If anyone knew any explanatory or step-by-step guilds to building a CNC machine that would be hugely helpful!

In terms of building my very own CNC machine I'm looking for a three-axis machine with a 2' x 4' bed to be used almost exclusively for woodworking with the occasional piece of aluminum. I'm not opposed to building from a kit but from past experience usually you get more value by purchasing the parts yourself. My budget is $2000 but I could extend that if necessary.

Any advice?

Thank you!

Downloads
    Uploads

A good place to start is to read through some project build log threads. http://www.cnczone.com/forums/cnc-wood-router-project-log/

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New to DIY CNC

I might add read all of the stickies for this forum. Yeah it will take awhile but a bit of learning up front makes communications a bit easier.

I dont know of a web site or text that really does a decent job of teaching everything you need to know to build a machine. Some of the sites ive seen are actually pretty terrible.

In any event the better you can define what you need out of this mschine the better we can help you. For instance you didnt mention Z clearance which is critical.