Newbie Where to start?

Thread: Where to start?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Where to start?

Hello, I am new to cnc zone. I would like to build my own servo driven 5 axis cnc. I would rather avoid Mach 3 and stepper motors, if I will need to upgrade later. If I am new to this, what would be the best control to start with that can be versatile enough to handle more complex things later, so I don't have to re-learn a new control later. I understand the best would be Fanuc or Siemens, but what is the best "low cost" control that is still able to quickly handle complex 1000's of lines of code? Thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Where to start?

LinuxCNC is is probably the most flexible of all controllers. It does have quite a learning curve though. I haven't used it myself, at least not yet, I'm not really a liunux guy. There's also a branch created by Tormach called PathPilot that I think has a little fancier interface, but may be harder to customize to your machine (I think?)
    Price is a wide range, the software itself is free, and you can use it on a basic PC with a parallel port, but to get high performace you'll need some motion control hardware.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by ecpra View Post
    Hello, I am new to cnc zone. I would like to build my own servo driven 5 axis cnc.
    A 5 axis machine is a big jump above a 3 axis machine, I'm not sure I'd suggest that as a first build. This really depends upon experiences and resources, but if you are tool poor and lacking experience I'd suggest starting out with a 3 axis machine that three axis machine can be used to build parts for a 5 axis our to simply upgrade itself to 5 axis