wobbling problems

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: wobbling problems

Downloads
    Uploads

Question wobbling problems

Hello!

I've been building a CNC router for a while (gantry type, stationaty table), and got it ready enough to run some wood routing this summer (worked like a charm!)

Now I've been thinking about milling som aluminium, spent yesterday evening with some cad/cam and tried today: catastrophy.

It cut downward in a spiral to get to the right depth, started to spiral outwards and then it went crazy, wobbling all around the place.

I'm new to milling/routing so the basics on feedrates and spindle speeds come from sporadic googling, not a solid education.

I am pretty sure this is a major construction issue, that the gantry is to weak and give room for some movement.

However, I now ask you if there could be anything I can improve without rebuilding the entire machine.

Lubricant, feedrate, spindle speed, type of tool, climbing cutting or not.

Hope you have som constructive opinions!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: wobbling problems

First, we need to know what you mean by "wobbling"?

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads

It sounds like your machine just isn't rigid enough to mill aluminum; most routers aren't. Either stick to wood, or consider building another machine that's a lot stiffer.

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

Yes, as mentioned before, that would definitely be my first guess as to what is the main error.