Please help with machine chatter & movement

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please help with machine chatter & movement

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Please help with machine chatter & movement

Im new to CNC so please forgive me for my lack of terminology. I've owned a signshop for 22 years but we have always been cut & digital vinyl.

I purchased a used Machine Tool Camp 4'x8' table with a router ( not spindle ) for what i think was a eeasonable price. I went and saw it route before purchase and I noticed a chatter and when I asked on a forum I was told it was their hold down method, the used wedges that hold in but not down. So I get the machine set it up and now with the wood screwed down to the spoil board I'm still getting a chatter and the table is setting on top of the same wooden build "box" that the original owner used, and I notice it has some movement. I will try to post some photos and or videos later on if I can get them to load up.

I'm not sure if my problem is the 12 year old Milwaukee not spinning as fast as it is supposed to or the movement of the table or if something is wrong with the entire table.

I've tried cutting slow 30 in/min up to 100 in/min and it actually seemed to chatter less at the higher speed unless i just noticed it more at the lower speed.

Any help is appreciated

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Please help with machine chatter & movement

Post some video of it with sound. Your description is leaving too many questions and providing not enough details. Some photos of the table would be beneficial as well.

Chris D

Downloads
    Uploads

Test each individual axis without a cutter, for smoothness of acceleration and deceleration at maximum feed rate.
    goto maximum travel limits
    and for a true test rapid to a point at max feed
    then immediate reversal of direction opposing
    Max feed rate X to 8ft then max -x to x0
    Same for Y and Z

Been doing this too long

Downloads
    Uploads