New Machine Build First time building CNC Router. Would love some feedback on my design.

Thread: First time building CNC Router. Would love some feedback on my design.

Default First time building CNC Router. Would love some feedback on my design.

Hi all,

This is my first time designing a CNC router and I would love to get some feedback from experienced builders so that I can avoid some common pitfalls. I tried to minimize machined parts as much as possible.

Here are the components that I have purchased so far:

Rail & ball screw set from AliExpress:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3-ba...608.0.0.si2sZi

NEMA23 Stepper motor, driver, controller set from AliExpress:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/CNC-...608.0.0.si2sZi
    (I heard some horror stories about this set but I tested them and they seem to be working fine)

Ballscrew housing from Ebay:
    Ballscrew Nut Housing Seat Mount Bracket Holder 28mm Dia For SFU1604 1605 1610

Motor mount housing from Ebay:
    New Nema23 Stepper Motor Aluminum Mount Bracket Clamp+4pcs Screws for CNC Router | eBay

I went with 8020 aluminum extrusions so that I can just install the linear rails on T-nuts instead of drilling & tapping million holes.

Side View:

Isometric View

Top View

Bottom View

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails First time building CNC Router. Would love some feedback on my design.-cnc-side-jpg   First time building CNC Router. Would love some feedback on my design.-cnc_iso-jpg   First time building CNC Router. Would love some feedback on my design.-cnc-top-jpg   First time building CNC Router. Would love some feedback on my design.-cnc_iso-bottom-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: First time building CNC Router. Would love some feedback on my design.

Not bad at all for a first attempt!!!