pro's and con's of using ball-bearing drawer slides?

Thread: pro's and con's of using ball-bearing drawer slides?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default pro's and con's of using ball-bearing drawer slides?

I have see some designs using ball-bearing drawer slides, but being a carpenter/cabinet builder, i know they have their limitations. i was wondering others thoughts. i tried to search for topics already posted, but i kept getting an expired token error, so i am posting a new thread i guess.

my worries are side to side sway, and droop when extended fully. my interest is due to my father/boss making the suggestion, though it may have merit for a lower cost slide.

as i would be using it for my gantry, it would have to be fairly tight, correct?

I thank you for your previous help, as well as in advance for help in this topic.

~Travis

Similar Threads:
    Techno Isel Gantry III (?) base machine. EMC/LinuxCNC controller (Mesa 7i80HD-16).
    about 48 X 48 X 5 inch working, Perske 3PH 5HP spindle

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: pro's and con's of using ball-bearing drawer slides?

Pros: Cheap
    Cons: Everything else - limited travel, poor rigidity, high friction, very intolerant of dust.

Drawer slides are what you would use if you wanted to build a very small machine, on an incredibly small budget.

The best way to use them is to use them in pairs, so that as you extend one, it's closing the other. This addresses some of your concerns.

Imo, you'd be much better off with a skate bearing on pipe machine. Read every build thread in the Joes 2006 machine.

My recommendation for you would be to build something like a Joe's 2006 machine, and do it as cheaply as possibly. Use an Arduino and GRBL for control.
    You need a machine, in order to learn what you need to know.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]