New Machine Build Some questions before make it REAL

Thread: Some questions before make it REAL

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Some questions before make it REAL

Hello, I have spent the last 2 months reading and absorbing info in this forum, and now im totally decided that a CNC is what I NEED in my life. In my country only some big factories have CNCs, the DIY market didnt exist so im trying to create this new market, not for the monetary aspect, but for the amount of possibilities it open. For example: im a student arquitect and with a CNC my arquitectural models will only be limited by my mind, not the tools.

The idea is to create a machine capable of working with the biggest wood sheet 1,83m x 2,6m (6' x 8,5'), with a reasonable but not exaggerated Z height. 2 motors in X axis, and all 4 motors the same. After reading a lot I have a lot of questions, and I hope you can help me with them .

Specs:
    Workable area: x= 2900m y= 1900m z=200-300mm
    Main use: Furniture
    Secondary use: Arquitectural Models, Construction modules (ex:Tree houses), etc.
    Materials: SoftWood and Hardwood, Plastics.
    Desired speed: Not sure, but for a 3m bed would be required a decent speed.
    Gantry Weight: aprox. 50-60Kg

Sorry if there are to much questions, but I wouldnt stop until this machine is REAL.

Questions:

Motion system:

1: Whats its the best motion system (Belt, RyP, etc) based in the LONG travel area I have and the precision required to make furniture?
    1b: Would the belt on belt be enought or the material resistance will move the belt in undesired ways?
    1c: Its the Rack and Pinion precise enought to the main use? what components I would need to mount with it to be usable (slave pinion, etc)?

Motor:
    2: I have in mind to use 4x Nema34 1600oz, what did you think about that (im a man of acceleration rather than speed)?
    2b: I have come across this pack, its well matched or there are going to be any bottleneck?