Need Help! New build/Tinyg router RF interference?

Thread: New build/Tinyg router RF interference?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New build/Tinyg router RF interference?

Hi guys,
    I just finished building a CNC router of my own design. I am a woodworker and cabinet maker. I chose what I thought were the best features from several different designs. I'll make a more detailed post on a dedicated build thread. It has 1/2" 2 start lead screws powered by (4) 340 oz/in steppers (2 on the y axis). It has 2 NO limit switches on each axis. The controller is a TinyG with a 24 v power supply. For now, I'm using my laptop, but I plan on a permanently installed pc in the control box area. It also has a 120v relay that is triggered from the spindle control on the tinyg. The router is a Bosch 1617evs.

I spent the weekend wiring everything up and setting up the tinyg. I had it finding it's limits and setting the 0 point. I was able to run some test files with the router off. When I triggered the relay and turned the router on the tinyg would lose it's usb connection and shut down. I would have to reset the tinyg to re-establish the connection. I think I know what might be the problem. All of the control cables and the router power run parallel in 2 pieces of drag chain for over 10 ft. I stripped the shielding on the stepper control cable, but I havn'e grounded it yet. I'm pretty sure I'm RF interference from the router.

Opinions?

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails New build/Tinyg router RF interference?-20170223_062307_zpsqld3tc2o-jpg   New build/Tinyg router RF interference?-20170223_062314_zpsfhuycphj-jpg   New build/Tinyg router RF interference?-20170305_083715_zpsjjcp6alt-jpg   New build/Tinyg router RF interference?-20170305_083730_zpspgfxyged-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New build/Tinyg router RF interference?