New Machine Build DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?

Hello all, this is my first post on here however I've been browsing on here every now and then if I need answers. About a week ago I decided to try designing and making my own cnc router and have spent the week designing and thinking about parts materials etc. Its my first build and I'm a woodworker so I decided on doing an MDF build here. The bed dimensions are 40" in x and 30" in y. I'm hoping for about 2-2.5" in z travel. For linear motion I'm using v-bearings on steel DIN Rails. For drive I'm thinking of using 1/2-10 ACME lead screws with delrin AB nuts on 170+ oz/in nema 23 steppers. (recommendations welcome!) I've heard good about the gecko 540 4 axis control board in regards to bang/buck too. I'm thinking probably a 24v PSU. Any help or ideas would be appreciated! What kind of tolerances do you think I can get? Are those motors powerful enough? Will I have problems with lead screws with my travel range? Will I be able to get decent tolerances with my linear bearing and mdf design?

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?-linearbearingx-jpg   DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?-capture-jpg   DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?-linearbearingy-jpg   DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?-gantryback-jpg  

DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?-y-zsleds-jpg   DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?-topview-jpg   DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?-frontview-jpg   DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?-tablebottom-jpg  

Last edited by Keonfrey; 09-19-2016 at 11:05 PM.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: DIY hobby cnc design thoughts?

https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/use...d-1f0b2a7fbaa6 Here is my google sketchup 3d warehouse profile. The design is downloadable here if you wish to!