Newbie Converting an Ebay router

Thread: Converting an Ebay router

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Converting an Ebay router

Hi all,

First post here so if I'm doing anything wrong feel free to let me know. This is mostly about cutting plastic but i figured CNCs for cutting wood would be close enough hence I am posting this here.

I am a Robotic Engineering student down here in Australia, Im in my 3rd year out of 4 and I am very firmly into the car scene. I am trying to start up a small business of selling reasonably priced
    air splitters for the front and sides of the car. A splitter is basically a flat piece of material that attaches to the underside of the front bumper. Currently I am getting them cut out by a local company using their cnc router but its just costing me too much
    hence I want to look into getting my own.

The router needs to have a cutting area of 1metre x 2metre and only needs to cut through 10mm thick HDPE(high density polyethylene) which is super duper soft and sometimes cut through teflon as well which is another soft plastic.
    My idea is to take one of these routers:
    3020T 3 Axis CNC Router Engraver Engraving Machine Woodworking PCB'S Desktop | eBay

I will get it up and running effectively and familiarize myself with the programs and file types and settings and everything. I am very experienced in working with 3D printers so i can draw on experience from that and I am very skilled in CAD designing in solidworks too so thats not an issue. I want to then go ahead and design a new frame for the router and pay an engineering company to make it out of aluminium or mdf to increase the overall size to my required 1m x 2m but keep all of the control parts, motors, spindle etc.

So what do people think? Will there be any issues with stepper motor or spindle power if i increase the size so dramatically? What about programming, can i just change working area dimensions in mach 3 software?