Starting my build...

Page 1 of 15 123411 ... LastLast

Thread: Starting my build...

Default Starting my build...

I've been studying for a while now and I'm taking the plunge. I've got my rail and Z axis. SBR16 1,150mm Y and 800mm X. I'm going to build a torsion box gantry...hopefully very stiff. Here's an overview of what I want to do...

The 800mm gantry torsion box was just a little to large to cut out on my current CNC machine, a Shapeoko2, so a friend cut the pieces out on his very large machine..

Torsion box under construction...

I'm going to cut the torsion box ribs out on my machine and finish the structure. I was tempted to go without the ribs as the box is very rigid like it is, but I'll go ahead. The box is made out of 3/4" MDF and it might be on the heavy side. I have two NEMA23 270oz motors to move the Y Axis.

I'm not an engineer so I don't have a rigidity analysis on the structure, but a lot of the advice I saw here was to go for it, learn a lot, then modify if necessary. That's my plan. The box is alreay more rigid than the Shapeoko2 X axis and my hope was to built a rigid machine capable of aiding me in building electric guitars.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Starting my build...-g4251-7-jpg   Starting my build...-g4251-7-jpg   Starting my build...-20160416_100833-jpg   Starting my build...-20160416_133214-jpg  

Default Re: Starting my build...

A few other tidbits. I plan on using 1/2-10 5 start acme screws. Not sure of the drivers yet...I bought the motors from us.stepperonline.com and Bo told me they have a brand new professional (not hobby grade) version of the TB6560. The driver isn't listed yet on their website. I just might give that a try.

Ahead of the drivers will be Windows 10 to an Arduino Uno running GRBL. This setup has served me well with the Shapeoko2.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads