poor result with v carve end mill problem

Thread: poor result with v carve end mill problem

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default poor result with v carve end mill problem

hi.

when using a 90 degree vbit it seems to just rip through the material or create a fan shape thats partially cut into the edge.
    ive tried different materials, different feed rates and depths, but it all produces a similar bad finish. except mdf, it works mostly fine on that.
    i increased the spindle to 20 000 rpm but i think i may have a problem with it. it doesnt seem to have a lot of power.
    for 2.2kw chinese spindle i would have thought it would easily carve through any soft wood. ( ive had it stall a couple of times with shallow cuts using a 5mm end mill. but hey, im new to this.)

some of the wood ive been using was a little below average soft pine at first but it seems to do it on nearly everything i try to v carve.

the vbit was new, but it was cheap. so am wondering if its just that or could there be other reasons for it?

i attached some pictures of the results im getting. any help would be muchly appreciated.

thanks

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails poor result with v carve end mill problem-imag1033-jpg   poor result with v carve end mill problem-imag1034-jpg   poor result with v carve end mill problem-imag1035-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: poor result with v carve end mill problem

Looks like the spindle may be spinning much slower than you think, which may explain the stalling. It shouldn't be slowing down at all, let alone stalling.

Next time show some unpainted pics. Is that plywood?

Get the spindle sorted out first, then make sure you have a good quality, sharp tool. Generally, the harder the wood, the better the results will be.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]