How Big should I go?

Thread: How Big should I go?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default How Big should I go?

I am new to this and have been doing some reading. I am looking to build a cnc table that is 2x4 but configured so I could slide a 4x8 sheet in and do 2 feet and then slide down and do another 2 feet so on and so forth. Is this possible or should I just get this out of my head? Also I have 1000 to play around with can I build one that would do alum? I have the computer for it. Cutting speed does not matter. Recommendations on stepper size? Are gecko drivers the only way to go? Just trying to get a place to start.

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi,

A 2x4 router is a nice size in my view and is about the size mine will be when finished. Not sure how you envision getting a 4x8 sheet into a 2x4 router unless one side is open. If that is the thought I would be concerned about getting a strong enough frame especially if you want to do aluminum as well.

You don't mention what sort of rails you plan to use. Gecko drives are nice but there are other options as well. A quick search through the forum will get you many others.

What sort of spindle are you thinking?

I would concentrate on a solid built 2x4 size with maybe a laminate router as a spindle. Step motors (example Automation Direct) are reasonable in price as are the Gecko drives. Not sure on the rails with your budget. There are several nice designs on this forum using Baltic Birch and MDF. Good luck and keep us posted.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads