CNC Router for Hardwoods: Evaluation and Questions

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: CNC Router for Hardwoods: Evaluation and Questions

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC Router for Hardwoods: Evaluation and Questions

Hello everyone,

I am a furniture designer/maker who makes sculptural pieces of furniture out of solid wood. I have no experience with CNC, but I am sure that I will be able to incorporate one into my one-of-a-kind work flow. I am very excited about the whole process!

I have been developing a design for a machine that synthesizes my needs with what I have learned from other posts. I know enough now to know that I know very little. Any comments or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

The overview of the machine is: welded steel base, 8020 extrusion, plate aluminum cars, Hiwin linear rail, R&P, 4KW Chinese spindle with VFD and Nema 34 steppers…(all subject to your review). I am approaching the build in a few stages that will be spread out over the coming year.

Clear space in my studio and evaluate size
    Weld the base
    x & y rails and cars
    z car
    steppers & spindle
    Electronics
    Learn how to use it!

I am at the point where the various components are starting to work as a system in my CAD drawing. Thats the good part…the bad part is I am now seeing flaws in my plan and other areas of my inexperience are totally exposed! I have some specific questions in regard to sizing Hiwin blocks and in regard to setting up the Z axis. I will do my best to walk you through my design which will explain the thought behind some of my decisions. I am open to any and all suggestions that help me reach my goal of a capable CNC router for hardwoods. If the machine is rigid enough I could easily find some aluminum projects for the machine.

CNC Router for Hardwoods: Evaluation and Questions-base-jpg