Newbie Need some advice

Thread: Need some advice

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Need some advice

Hello,

My name is Joe and I am interested in CNC machines. I am new to this field, but have been working with wood for a while now. I would like to know if it would be beneficial for me to build my own CNC or purchase one. If I build one is there a kit that would be recommended and if I buy one is there a specific one that everyone would recommend?

I will be making signs, wooded boxes, bookshelves, and other things. I am sure my wife will have her list of things for me to make also....

I am not sure on my CAD and CAM software yet so if anyone recommends something that would be great also.

Thanks in advance

Joe

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by jbrown197920 View Post
    Hello,

My name is Joe and I am interested in CNC machines. I am new to this field, but have been working with wood for a while now. I would like to know if it would be beneficial for me to build my own CNC or purchase one. If I build one is there a kit that would be recommended and if I buy one is there a specific one that everyone would recommend?
    Beneficial for you is entirely up to you. You have to have an interest in CNC to really leverage it as it takes some time to master. If you are talking about a business here then I would have to say CNC is a requirement. Hobby wise it really is up to you.

As far as building or buying there are so many designs out there that nobody can say for sure which is best for you. You need to address this yourself based on available space, interests, costs and your ability to acquire the required skills.
    I will be making signs, wooded boxes, bookshelves, and other things. I am sure my wife will have her list of things for me to make also....