CNC Router for pool cue inlays?

Thread: CNC Router for pool cue inlays?

Banned
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC Router for pool cue inlays?

Greetings everyone, newbie here. I build pool cues as a hobby and would like to take it to the next level with inlays. This board is great and I've read a lot of the threads. Do you think a small CNC router would be good for this? I know a lot of cuemakers use CNC lathes and mills and I know of one that uses a high end Techno-Isel router. The cue would have to be held in an indexing device, like a spin index, in lieu of a 4th axis. That is no problem, but I am wondering if a small 1"-1.25" round workpiece will work in a router table like the small home made ones I've seen on this board. I believe it is just treated as a flat surface and the inlay pockets are cut flat bottomed. I think accuracy for inlays would need to be in the .002-.003 range. Do you guys get this kind of accuracy with your machines?

Look forward to hearing from you.
    Thanks,
    Todd L

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

http://www.hurricanecues.com/db2/001...heet-3copy.jpg
    My father makes Hurricane Cues, he is semi-retired but still turns a few sticks here an there. He uses 2 cnc routers running .020 carbide cutters. One is standard 3 axis for cutting inlays other is 4 axis with rotary device for the pockets. He runs them with a Foredom motor and some little high speed spindle. He also turns the Hurricane symbol in stainless steel which is a very tender setup.
    Hague

Downloads
    Uploads

I've got a question.

When you rout the outside of a cylinder, you are cutting a specified depth directly into the cylinder, and essentially cutting out a wedge. The edges of the cut should point towards the center of the form.

If you "unwrap" this shape from the cylinder and lay it flat, the edges would not be square, but would taper towards the bottom.