First dust shoe design

Thread: First dust shoe design

Downloads
    Uploads

Default First dust shoe design

Well after playing with vcarve pro for a little bit, I can up with this simple design for a dust shoe. After three different cuts, I think I got it right. (or close to it) What do the pros think? I'm still learning the software portion of this, so any insight is welcomed. I tried drawing it up in AutoCad 2013, but that is still out of my grasp.

Thanks,
    Justin

Similar Threads:
    Attached Files Attached Files

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I can't open the file. What did you use to generate it? Could you just post a picture instead?

Downloads
    Uploads

I looked at it and the first thing that I see is you should think out the order of your cuts. other than that it looks good

Downloads
    Uploads

I used Vcarve Pro to create it. It was the first time I ever had to use layers, still not sure if I really had to.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

There might be something proprietary about the Vcarve dxf format because I tried three different programs and none of them could view it (eDrawings viewer, cambam, and inkscape). If you post a picture or another format I'd still like to see it.

Downloads
    Uploads

Try this one

Attached Files Attached Files

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by fixtureman1 View Post
    Try this one
    That one worked... what did you do to it?

autotec- As for the design itself, why go for a rectangular profile? Usually round will give you better clearance. What kind of brushes are you going to use?

Downloads
    Uploads

I'm really new to the software, so a rectangle seemed easy to draw. Plus the brushes I will be using really don't want to bend. I have 2 different kinds, one with a metal binder and one with a plastic binder. I'll be trying the plastic first. I'll take a picture in a little while to show you the shoe and brushes. It will all make sense then.

Thanks,

Justin