size of stepper motors needed

Thread: size of stepper motors needed

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default size of stepper motors needed

I'm brand new to the CNC world but have been studying different machines here and other sites. I'm starting to learn some from just reading the post but have a ways to go.
    I most likely will try and build a small cnc with router in the future from an available kit. I may try the Zen 12x12 as what i need is a small router for some lithophanes masters I wish to make.
    My general question( if this is the right sub forum) is about the size of the stepper motors vs the size of the machine it fits on.
    The Zen has a stepper motor kit with I believe Nema 13 motors and drivers w/ps.
    Is there a rule of thumb to approximate the size of the motor for the size of the machine you want and match it to the driver and ps you want to build.
    In this case I'll ask what motors would be on a woodworking cnc router table that could make a sign 1ftx2ft and be reasonably powered.
    I'm only trying to get a rough idea so I can visualize when I see 20 different Nema motors and amps as well as PS's and driver boards what these numbers mean in a real working envirnment.
    This is something i don't know anything about.
    Thanks for any comments.
    Wyndham

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

You would need to figure out how much each axis weighs, how much force is needed to "push" each one, the speed you need to drivev the axis at cutting speed, and the drive ratio of each axis, plus some headroom (maybe about 10-15%) From there you should be able to deternine the "torque" you need to drive each axis. The torque ratings of different motor frame sizes can overlap. There are a few useful articles on the geckodrive.com website that you should read to get an idea of motor sizing as well as power supply sizing.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads