Steel CNC 1300x1800mm

Thread: Steel CNC 1300x1800mm

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Steel CNC 1300x1800mm

I'm thinking of building a steel cnc router with 1300x1800mm working area.
    I have a small desktop cnc so I'm not completely green but when it comes to drawing and building a cnc I'm a newbie

Here's a sketchup I've been working on.
    It's a model I found in the Sketchup library and then modifyed so it can be disassembled but still (hopefully) be as sturdy as if it was all welded.
    As you can see the sides and top can be disassembled.

Do you guys think this would work?

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Steel CNC 1300x1800mm-test3-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Not bad.

Have you thought of maybe putting in some positioning pins. Make em tight fit, almost a press fit. Then you are certain the machine will go back exactly the way it was. Maybe mark and place shims as well to keep the machine level/square. This is just a thought. But you can probably do this by setting the machine up, square it up, then drill two 3/8" (or 1/2", whatever) holes on the top and bottom of each side of the crossbraces and on each of the four corners of the top. Then find some solid rod, make sure it's a tight fit (where it would take some light pounding with a rubber mallet to get it on/off). Place it in the hole and cut it to fit, maybe the thickness of both pieces of material plus 1/8". Then, weld it to the brace or top (just one side of the two pieces of material.). There ya go, positioning pins.

If you don't understand this, maybe I can draw something up on SolidWorks and post it for ya.

Just my two cents.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

My plan was to just bolt it together.
    I'm no expert but I thought that as long as I made sure the top was square when welding it, it would stay square when I bolted it together with the sides and crossbraces.