New Machine Build New 2' x 8' Machine Build

Thread: New 2' x 8' Machine Build

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New 2' x 8' Machine Build

Hello, all -

I am about halfway through my first machine build and thought now would be a good time to start a build thread for it. I am building my machine based on the 2' x 4' plans available at FineLineAutomation.com. I need to mill long, skinny pieces out of MDF and/or plywood (primarily patterns for boatbuilding), hence the odd size of this machine. My intent was to duplicate the machine in the plans except for the X-axis rails, which I would make 8' long. Things didn't exactly happen that way (see below).

I am a technical writer by day, and I'm keeping a build manual with a complete BOM and step-by-step procedures for building the machine and getting it set up - which is kind of a neat trick since I've never built one or set one up.

I have the machine base, X-axis rails, gantry, and Z-carriage assembled. The X-axis rails are 96" long, which will provide something less than 8' of travel. The gantry is a duplicate of the one in the 2' x 4' drawings, except that the 3030 T-slot extrusion is 48" long instead of 42.5". I had to order a 48" length, and it seemed foolish to cut it and waste 5.5" of potential...so I left it long. As a result, there's 37.5" between the 3" x 3" aluminum tubing that forms the X-axis rails. I can see maybe upgrading to a bigger machine in the future by simply replacing the 48" gantry and the Y-axis lead screw with longer versions. I could easily (I think) jump up to a full 4' x 8' machine.

The Y-axis and Z-axis are Acme 5-start screws. I somehow managed to order the Y-axis screw a few inches short, so for the time being, I won't be getting as much travel in the Y-direction as I could, but that's no big deal based on the parts I need to mill (remember: long and skinny). I ordered a router mount from K2CNC.com and my big Milwaukee is ready to rock.