Newbie Beginner CNC Enthusiast Questions...

Thread: Beginner CNC Enthusiast Questions...

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Beginner CNC Enthusiast Questions...

Hi All,
    I am looking into making a CNC router as a fun project to keep me productive outside of working hours.I'm a mechanical engineer in New Zealand and work as a designer in the composites industry. However I often wonder if I am in the right job as largely my interests lie in programming / electronics and robotics.

That being said I am not long out of uni and don't work in this field so my knowledge of electrical / control components is very small (but I'm keen to learn!)

The router I imagine making first will be small, something that doesn't cost too much to make, not too bulky to store and will more or less serve the purpose of teaching me about components eg. stepper motors,controllers...soldering??

So I guess the point of this thread is: Where do I start? I am pretty happy with the mechanical side of things i.e. gantry/tracks/timing belts/pulleys etc...but where I am really lost is what electrical components I need?

If someone could help me compile a list of what I might need, something like

* 2x Stepper Motors - http://http://morestuff.biz/product/...ema-23-4-wire/

* Stepper Motor Driver - http://http://morestuff.biz/product/...er-hi-current/

And any advice, links, or just a general description of the components I need and how they interact would be great.

Cheers,
    Nick

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Bad links.

Can you post some images of your design?

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads