Vertical Mounted Home CNC

Thread: Vertical Mounted Home CNC

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Vertical Mounted Home CNC

I'm thinking of building a vertically mounted CNC and wanted to see what the group thinks of this idea.

I am looking at building a wall mounted (need to save space)cnc with a work envelope of 4' x 4' with 6" of Z. I will be using 80/20 for the frame. Since I'm such a cheap son-of-a-gun I would really like to use roller bearings for the linear guides. I plan on using a max-nc 10 closed loop system (145oz I think) for the drive so I can get a semi-decent feed rate.

This will be a specialty cnc used only for milling 4-6lb polyeurethane foam so it should never encouter very heavy loads.

I just though I would throw this out into the forum since I'm sure someone here has already considered this and thought it through much more than I have.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Im no expert, but your Y axis will be working against Gravity in one dirrection and not the other so (Im assuming the spindle will move relative to the table) the traveling portion needs to be as light as possible. I consider having the Y axis guides mounted away from the table (some sort of frame) and only a crossmember (X axis Guide ) that moves in Y.

What kind of arrangement did you have planned ?

Backlash in Y shouldnt be a problem .

Wee aim to please ... You aim to ... PLEASE.

Downloads
    Uploads

I am considering this for the machine I am building. I want to set it at around a 65 or so degree angle. So far it is sitting flat on my table. Once I get it going, I will prop it up for a few days to see how it works. If it's ok I will build a frame out of 80/20 to hold it there.

The y axis can be counterwieghted to improve the gravity situation.

Eric

I wish it wouldn't crash.

Downloads
    Uploads

Ah yes. I forgot to say I would like to set up a gantry style to utilize the most space.

Downloads
    Uploads