Z-axis zero plate

Thread: Z-axis zero plate

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Z-axis zero plate

I am trying to create a z axis zero plate. I am running mach 3 with a Bladerunner box. I wired an aluminum plate into the wiring for the z axis home switch and reversed the z axis home direction so that the router lowers to the plate. When the tool touches the plate it closes the circuit and stops. What I can't figure out is how to compensate for the thickness of the aluminum plate (.089") so that my zero is at the top of my work piece. I am a newbie to all this so a lot of help is needed. I would also be interested in wiring my zero plate into the Bladerunner box if someone knows how.

Thanks,
    Morgan

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

you can set the Z axis to .089 by clicking on the z axis DRO on the Mach 3 screen and type in .089, be sure to hit enter to complete. your z will now read .089.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads

Using a touch plate for the "Auto Tool Zero" function on the Mach3 program run screen. A nice way to set the z height.

1) Go to Config->Ports&Pins->Inputs, and configure a pin as the "Probe" input, making it Active Low.
    2) Wire your touch plate to the Probe input.
    3) Go to the Offsets screen, and, in the top-left corner, set the touch plate thickness to the exact thickness of your plate.
    4) Go to Operator->EditButtonScript, then click on the AutoToolZero button. When the VB editor opens, delete the few lines of code in there, and paste in the following macro:

NOTE: You can replace the following with a known plate thickness such as .089"